Author Topic: Cracked windshield  (Read 7463 times)

Offline Cobra951

• Gold Member
Cracked windshield
« on: Monday, September 22, 2008, 12:47:18 PM »
Son of a bitch.  I can't buy a break.  I take the car out on the highway for the first time in months today, and it takes a supersonic pebble on the passenger side.  I got a small crack with a star pattern sure to spread.  I heard that these can now be patched with some sort of injection.  Does anyone have any info or experience with such a repair?  If I can get away without replacing the whole windshield, even if it isn't perfect, then that's what I'm going to do.

Offline idolminds

• ZOMG!
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
Re: Cracked windshield
« Reply #1 on: Monday, September 22, 2008, 01:10:48 PM »
Linky

(I have no experience with this, but this is what I found. I also found mixed reports on using superglue and stuff, but that seems rather...not permanent)

Offline scottws

• Gold Member
    • Facebook Me
« Reply #2 on: Monday, September 22, 2008, 02:29:04 PM »
Yeah they inject some sort of silicone epoxy or something.  It really does a good job of filling and hiding the damage, as well as prevents it from spidering even more (which it will do - badly - if you don't get it fixed).

It's pretty cheap.  I know of a place on the West Side that does it.  It happened to Jennie and insurance covered the whole thing so it was even cheaper.

Offline Quemaqua

• 古い塩
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
  • パンダは触るな。
    • Bookruptcy
« Reply #3 on: Monday, September 22, 2008, 06:25:34 PM »
It's funny, I was just talking about this with Julia today.  Apparently she was on the road with a friend today and they got a crack in the windshield, and I'd never heard of this, but apparently it works pretty well and this is what our friend plans to do.

天才的な閃きと平均以下のテクニックやな。 課長有野

Offline Cobra951

• Gold Member
« Reply #4 on: Monday, September 22, 2008, 09:14:53 PM »