Author Topic: Need advice on finding a good laptop  (Read 3443 times)

Offline Cobra951

• Gold Member
Need advice on finding a good laptop
« on: Sunday, March 29, 2015, 05:29:46 PM »
Sandy wants to get a new laptop.  She's used to these 17" VAIOs she's had for years, which have been very reliable.  One of them had the screen go out recently, and replacing the screen has proven problematic.  (Either that, or the local repair shop can't do the job right.)

She now wants to look into replacing it.  Quality and reliability first; cost is secondary, though not unimportant.  I have very little knowledge about who makes good laptops.  My experience is mostly related to my daughter, who has had several laptops die on her prematurely.  I don't trust the things.  Any pointers?

Offline idolminds

• ZOMG!
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
Re: Need advice on finding a good laptop
« Reply #1 on: Sunday, March 29, 2015, 10:25:46 PM »
I am also interested in this, been wanting a new laptop I can take to the library. Hardest thing when being budget conscious about it is all these Chromebooks and such only come with 16-32GB of internal storage, a good chunk taken up by the OS. I need something with some real space since it's mainly a download machine where I can put game files and update them.

Offline gpw11

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: Sunday, March 29, 2015, 10:44:34 PM »
Laptops seem like the wild west to me.  I know my mom has always bought Samsung and that's worked out well for her.  I, on the other hand, have only owned two HPs in my life and both have been good - the second far more than the first, but I can't say whether I lucked out or not.

If it were me, I'd go here:  https://www.reddit.com/r/SuggestALaptop/

Offline scottws

• Gold Member
    • Facebook Me
« Reply #3 on: Monday, March 30, 2015, 05:27:41 AM »
Lenovo Carbon X1.

Offline Raisa

• Veteran
« Reply #4 on: Monday, March 30, 2015, 06:16:03 AM »
Samsung's kinda weird after a couple years.