Author Topic: Banjo-Kazooie: N&B - Update: My carousel is a winner!  (Read 9623 times)

Offline Cobra951

• Gold Member
Banjo-Kazooie: N&B - Update: My carousel is a winner!
« on: Saturday, November 01, 2008, 02:07:23 PM »
I have a feeling this game is going to be a failure of heartbreaking proportions.  But the demo provides what seems like endless free entertainment.  The big problem I see is that the structure is just as kiddie as the original game's, but what you have to do to utilize the game's potential takes more advanced thought, and practice.  When I started playing, I had no clue what the hell I was expected to do.  Basically, you need to build vehicles out of parts you collect.  You start out with a few blueprints, so all you have to do is fill those in with the hardware.  But I imagine (and I hope) that later you can go more freeform than that.  I can see a lot of room for creativity in vehicle design and purpose.  You can head off to land, sea and air with them too.  The world is extremely detailed and pretty in a Rare colorful way.  Frame rate is rock stable at my least favorite number, 30.  That seems to be a practical limitation on this console, though others have broken free of it.  (E.g., Criterion.)

I don't know.  I played for a couple of hours, and still didn't see an end in sight.  You're allowed to unlock at least the first world from the hub world, and go crazy.  I see some fencing off in the hub world, but it all feels very unrestricted.  When you need a break from all the big adult games hitting left and right, try something completely different.  I'll post more if I discover more.
« Last Edit: Wednesday, April 29, 2009, 09:29:11 AM by Cobra951 »

Offline Quemaqua

• 古い塩
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
  • パンダは触るな。
    • Bookruptcy
Re: Demo for the new Banjo-Kazooie game on 360
« Reply #1 on: Saturday, November 01, 2008, 05:37:51 PM »