Author Topic: For those that have had supervisor job interviews...  (Read 2511 times)

Offline shock

• Poster Child
For those that have had supervisor job interviews...
« on: Sunday, December 06, 2009, 10:12:03 PM »
What are these interviews like?  I've been working at a job for two summers now and I'm applying to be a supervisor there next summer, but I have no managing/supervisor experience and I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed by the interview I have tomorrow.  It's a customer service orientated job.

Any dos/don'ts?  Since I've been there for a while, I can stress my experience/knowledge of how the department works.  Beyond that, I'm not sure what to call upon.
Suck it, Pugnate.

Offline Quemaqua

• 古い塩
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
  • パンダは触るな。
    • Bookruptcy
Re: For those that have had supervisor job interviews...
« Reply #1 on: Sunday, December 06, 2009, 10:32:36 PM »
Just be a complete drooling moron.  Showcase your absolute incompetence, unwillingness to work, and total inability to convey information to your subordinates.  Every person I've ever met in any kind of supervisory position has been like that, so I assume those are the top qualities they look for.

天才的な閃きと平均以下のテクニックやな。 課長有野

Offline Pugnate

• What? You no like?
  • Global Moderator
  • Forum god
    • OW
« Reply #2 on: Monday, December 07, 2009, 12:44:45 AM »
Think of the questions they are likely to ask you, like your lack of supervisor experience and then try to think of some satisfactory responses. But don't over think yourself into a frenzy... :P

You are right, you can stress your knowledge of how the department works. That is a plus.

I would put myself in their shoes. Think of what would concern them about hiring an inexperienced supervisor, and then try to think of your qualities that counter those concerns and instead strike confidence.