Author Topic: Unreal Tournament 3 and Que's inability to host.  (Read 6738 times)

Offline Quemaqua

• 古い塩
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
  • パンダは触るな。
    • Bookruptcy
Unreal Tournament 3 and Que's inability to host.
« on: Sunday, April 27, 2008, 01:29:42 PM »
This seems to be a longstanding problem for many UT3 players, and nobody has any good suggestions for help.  I've talked about it a bit with Scott, who has been very helpful, but I'm a fucking idiot when it comes to networking since... well, I've never done any.  I've never had more than one computer other than laptops which I never felt compelled to network.  So I'm totally new at this.  But I just got a router and a Playstation 3 which hooks to the internet wirelessly through it, and while I've gotten all that to work fine, what I *can't* get to work is hosting an Unreal Tournament 3 match.

Basically, it says I need to set up port forwarding or put my PC into the DMZ.  I don't want to do the latter, and have tried the former using the values found at portforward.com for my router, the LinkSys WRT54G.  That didn't work.  Starting anything in UT3 still gives me the port forwarding/DMZ message and idol can't see my server when he tries to connect.  I contacted Comcast support to try something, and they basically didn't have any answers despite being more helpful than I thought they'd be.  I upgraded the firmware of the router, tried again, no dice.

Scott gave me a suggestion about having the modem set to bridge mode, which I don't entirely understand having no network experience and not truly knowing what a bridge does.  He also said something about setting up port forwarding on my modem *and* router, but I can't figure out how to change any setting on my modem whatsoever.  I know how to get to my router's web interface, and that's about it.