Author Topic: [PSP] Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker demo released  (Read 782 times)

Offline idolminds

• ZOMG!
  • Administrator
  • Forum god
[PSP] Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker demo released
« on: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 10:32:42 AM »
Get it here.

If you're running official PSP firmwares you're all set to go. Custom firmware...maybe maybe not. Some people are saying the old 5.00-m33 6 CFW won't play it, but the new GEN B can, so I'll update my PSP and report back.

Offline Xessive

• Gold Member
    • XSV @ deviantART
Re: [PSP] Metal Gear Solid Peace Walker demo released
« Reply #1 on: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 03:57:47 PM »
Cool. I just started playing MGS: Portable Ops. While I do like the game I cannot understand for the life of me why they chose to give it a camera-intensive control scheme! Why the heck didn't they make it like MGS3: Snake Eater (which is predominantly with a top-down view)??!! It's like Kojima is intentionally picking on the PSP for not having a right analogue stick/pad!

It's more than a little infuriating having to look around with the d-pad while I'm controlling Snake with the analogue. I tried switching the controls around so it's more like Syphon Filter but it's just not the same. The real kicker is that when you go into first-person view the commands switch around: the analogue becomes look and the d-pad becomes move.

I'm gonna try out the Peace Walker demo and if the controls are not improved I doubt I'll go for it, at least not at full price anyway.

EDIT:
Crap! It's entirely in Japanese!
« Last Edit: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 04:25:14 PM by Xessive »

Offline Xessive

• Gold Member
    • XSV @ deviantART
« Reply #2 on: Thursday, September 24, 2009, 05:04:43 PM »
First impressions:

Sadly, I couldn't understand much of the dialogue. Just basic stuff and occasional transliterations like "Bigu Bossu!" and "Sunekku!"